top of page

RUSTED TRUNKS & OLD TRINKETS


"Tale as old as time, song as old as Rhyme"

- Beauty and the Beast

For this shoot I came across this beautiful church during the Easter weekend. It is a small quiet place in Basavanagudi and is owned/managed by my friend's family. It is a 107 year old church with the foundation stone being laid in 1908. My friend's grandfather was kind enough to take me for a tour around the property and tell me about the history of the place. It took me down a lane when times were less complicated and everyone found happiness from smaller things in life.

During the tour, I came across these old rusted trunks lying around and it was one of the few things I could relate to. Remember the time when our grandparents used to own one of these old trunks. They were beautiful and it came in varoius shapes and sizes. I love this old trunk that my grandmom owns which has decorative brass corners and a fancy heavy latch. It has a beautiful motif repeated all over and looks so regal.

Sometimes I wonder how would it be to live in those times when life was much simpler and less stressful. All I can do is hear my grandparents talk about those times. Horse drawn carriages, gramophones, living in grand havelis. The whole thing is so beautiful when imagined.

So rolling back to the present times, well all I have from these old trunks are these delicate trinkets which hold the beauty of an era gone by.

Much Love

Archita

Top - H&M

Skirt - Brigade Road

Neckpiece - Aldo

Ring - Splash

Shoes - Zara

bottom of page